Skip to main content

Deleting account does not delete memories

I originally posted this on Discord but it didn’t get a response, so cross posting here. Marking it as high priority because the current functionality vs the policy/statement within the app does not appear to align with function (and may be a breach of European data laws).

There is a message in app stating that when you delete the account, all data is also removed. I've done this, and re-registered, and yet all of the conversations, app subscriptions and memories from before are still there and fully accessible.

  1. With this in mind when an account is deleted, or when a user deletes individual entries, is any transcriptions/audio/settings data deleted from Omi's services or is it more of a client side tidy up?

  2. When a user deletes a conversation/memory from the app, is this retained behind the scenes? I'm curious what data Omi retains pre/post deletion.

Thanks

Status: Completed5 comments

Log in to comment and vote

Comments5

  • L1 Support Team - Omi AI

    •

    Feb 24

    Recent updates have fixed this. Reach us if you`re still facing it.

  • HollyAnn

    •

    Jan 5

    Chiming in here, I have tried deleting chats and they initially appear to be gone but re-appear within a day or two.

  • Nguyễn Ngọc Thịnh

    •

    Sep 29, 2025

    It's weird. All users' data should be deleted.


    code: https://github.com/BasedHardware/omi/blob/main/backend/database/users.py#L90-L129

    By the way, ping me @thinh on Discord if your issue still persists.

    @edgymcocdoughnutsteel

  • Nathan Sudds

    •

    Sep 28, 2025

    @Mohammed Mohsin @edgymcocdoughnutsteel can you confirm?

    • edgymcocdoughnutsteel

      •

      Oct 4, 2025

      @Nathan Sudds Yes. This hasn’t changed.

      I have also noticed in several instances conversations returning after being deleted without closing the account. Since deleting/reactivating my account several times, conversations now also stop being deleted at all while the account is active.

      Upon closing the app, they return. I’m now not sure if ones deleted previously were actually deleted, or have just been removed from app view.